Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Day 4. June 9, 2008

Day 4. June 9, 2008

At 7:00 AM, we kicked off the day with a working breakfast – many teams doing the final portion of dress rehearsals for Griffin. The Morning (8:00 AM to Noon) was our first Operations simulation led by Professor Nancy Lea Hyer. Accelerator teams worked on understanding process efficiency and improvement.

During lunch, 1 representative of each team had the opportunity to visit the presentation room and determine how they wanted to be positioned for their presentations to Griffin.

After a working lunch, Professor Cherrie Clark led the teams in a discussion of preparation for the Griffin presentations and additional training in strategic consulting.

At 2:30 PM, we made our way to the Vanderbilt Law School auditorium where the Griffin executive team had already gathered – we had 8 representatives from Griffin to judge this first competition. Teams presented in an order they selected based upon the time the team completed their “deliverables” for Griffin. Each team had 10 minutes to make their presentation and then 2 minutes for Q&A with the client. Following the presentations of each team, all Accelerator students left the room to vote on their MVP team member (most valuable player) and to rank the presentations based upon how they believe the client (Griffin Technology) will rank their product ideas.

The Griffin team studied the teams’ Storyboards & Handouts as they reviewed the presentations and then ranked the teams from “best to worst” in their product designs and presentations. After the ranking, all Accelerator participants returned to the auditorium to hear Griffin announce the results of their judging. Beginning with the 8th place and moving to 1st place, Griffin shared information regarding what attributes of the designs appealed to the company and which portions of the presentations were not appealing to the company.

The winning team for this 1st round of competition (hosted by Griffin Technology) was Team 4 with 4 of the 8 Griffin votes. Team members include: Amy Brown, Patrick Dienes, Jordan Headlee, Tyler Weaks, Mandy May, Leo Selya, Samantha Webb, Megan Gilbert, A.J. Axelrod, Peter Mataragas, and Jason Levine. Team Coach: Patrick Long. Team 6 was awarded second place with 3 of the 8 Griffin votes. Griffin provided prizes to each member of the winning team (i-Pod peripherals and a speaker docking system.

Following the presentations, the Owen faculty did a full evaluation of the presentation skills of each team. Teams then completed a full peer and team process evaluation. We ended the day about 8:00 PM – a 13 hour day.

No comments: